restitution,reporations,and apologies

The topics of Race & Religion are discussed in this section.
sexy365
Middle Weight
Middle Weight

restitution,reporations,and apologies

Unread post by sexy365 » November 19th, 2003, 9:04 am

slavery is over, but alot of people are still hurt, and angry about it.should blacks get reporations,restitution,and apologies from whites? should blacks still be angry? who should restitution go to? where is our 40 acres and a mule?

Michelle

Re: restitution,reporations,and apologies

Unread post by Michelle » December 2nd, 2003, 11:52 am

I'm studying Civil Rights-History A level, at college. I've studied a year, so far, and i'm glad I did. It opened up a lot of things which I wasn't aware of before.
Growing up, everyone is surrounded by racism, to an extent. I understand problems faced by black people,studying Civil rights helped me to understand more.

We all have to move on....apoligies aren't enough, saying sorry won't change anything. It's just the uneducated, uncultured whites that are racist, the way they've been brought up. I'd be looking more to change this....
I'd find it hard to understand if there was one black person out there that wasn't bitter, my whole family is mixed race, brothers, sisters, so I feel, even I am, they're a part of me too........
Last edited by Michelle on August 27th, 2004, 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wcrockets
Light Heavy Weight
Light Heavy Weight

Unread post by wcrockets » December 2nd, 2003, 12:44 pm

I am always amazed at the ability humans have to hold on to a wrong. It's part of the "natural man's" pscyhological makeup. I've found in my own life that when I see no positive value to a wrong done me anymore I've had to purposely make a choice to let go and continue to push it away from me until it finally has no power over me anymore. Anyways, I wanted to repost this here since I think it addresses an aspect of the current situation: